Sunday, September 19, 2010

Sassy

While browsing some of the other blogs I follow, I came upon this jewel:



HOW FUNNY?? I literally laughed out loud. And then I went and checked out this one on youtube:



EVEN BETTER, RIGHT? I love funny videos.

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Hate

Yes, I know, what a lovely name for a blog post.

But...I'm feeling weird today. Do you have that friend....that one that you used to be really close to and now you're not? That one that was your best friend and even though you had your differences you still wish ya'll talked? And does that friend have new friends and it really pisses you off? Because how can someone just erase you from their life, right? I mean, I don't pretend to be perfect, but I'm still a good person. And I've always been a good friend, even if you didn't think it at the time I was telling you that sleeping with that guy was a bad idea.

I know it's bad to keep all this jealousy and loathing inside, so I'm letting it AAALLLL out tonight, mmmk?

I don't necessarily mind that we don't talk anymore because to tell you the truth we didn't get along all that well anyway. The part that pisses me off is that she's happy with other friends who can't POSSIBLY be as cool as me. And I'm here, in Madison, alone, and my sister/mother is best friend and it SUCKS because the one friend I do have down here she keeps STEALING back.

I hate that she had a boyfriend too. She should be really unhappy without me. And unhappy with her life since she's still in the same place doing the same damn thing she did 2 years ago, and I have definitely moved on with my life.

She also should NOT make up with friends that she talked shit to me about. If those new-old friends knew the things she said about them...they wouldn't come close to her again.

Also, WHY are you always on my FB newsfeed? I have about 500 other friends and of course, the FB Gods decide to smite me everyday and show me just how fucking fantastic your life without me is. Fuck You, FB Gods. And Fuck You, Old Friend.

I'm better off without you.


(Now, while all the things in this blog are true (at least in my perspective), I may be exaggerating my feelings just a bit. It's just that kind of day. No need to send flowers or chocolates, I'm fine. Really.)

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

too much time on my hands

{one} have you ever won a trophy? if yes, for what?
lots and lots and lots. i was a big sports player in high school and won many awards for that. i also kept a 3.85 GPA so i won lots of academic stuff too. aaaand i was in the band. i know, over-achiever.

{two} what was your favorite subject in school?
Biology II with Mrs. Ratliff was the best time I had in any class in high school. Love her and miss her. But I know she's smiling down on me now. :) she knew I was gonna end up here (as an RN) before I did, I'm sure.

{three} what time do you get up in the morning?
see, i don't have a job yet (well, i haven't started a job yet). so i don't have anything to do. so i sleep until i wake up. lately i've been sleeping until about 10:30 or so.

{four} if you could open your own business, what would it be?
a music and book store. two of my absolute loves in this world.

{five} if you could spend the evening with one rock star/band, who would it be?
hmmmm... a few years ago i would have said tyler connelly and theory of a deadman, but today...i say IDINA MENZEL. so what if she's not technically a "rock" star? she's a rockstar to me. and i want to hang out with her.

{six} what sitcom character reminds you of you?
um, none? i would love to say that i'm JUST like rachel berry from glee cause that would mean i can actually sing. or perhaps addison from private practice because i'd have my dream job and my dream boyfriend (sam=sexy). or maybe sookie stackhouse from true blood cause that would mean i've got two hot vamps after me. but alas, my life and personality are way too boring to resemble a character.

{seven} what are the 3 most important things to you?
obviously, my family, friends, and my health.
but thinking outside of the box: music, good books, and the bohemian ideals of life (as outlined in "La Vie Boheme")

{eight} chips or popcorn?
easy: chips. i love, love, love chips. i don't feel like my sandwich is complete without them.

{nine} have you ever ordered anything from an infomercial?
never. told you i'm boring.

{ten} what is one thing that you are grateful for today?
my stereo. i'm blasting florence + the machine and dancing around the room. :)

Monday, September 13, 2010

Miscellany Monday

...Job...
So to start off with, I guess I'm going to announce it: I got a job! Select Specialty Hospital called me last week. I had to finish some paperwork--mainly a drug screen and background check. Those things are done, so hopefully I'll be getting a call very soon. I want to start ASAP seeing as how I literally have $4.22 in my bank account right now. The job is basically Med/Surg at a long-term care facility. Definitely NOT my dream job, but again...I need experience and money. I know that ultimately I'll get where I'm headed...which is Labor and Delivery all the way. Pray they call back soon and want me to start!

...Music...
I haven't done a Music Monday in a while, and I decided not to turn this into one, but I really want to share some recent loves with you all.
1. "Basket Case" by Sara Bareilles: Off of her new cd, I immediately fell in love with this one. She has done it again, folks. Really an amazing album.
2. "Dog Days are Over" by Florence + The Machine: I can't remember if I've mentioned this one before or not but it's been in my head for days...and I DON'T want it out. I can't stop listening to it, seriously!
3. "Raise Hell" by Head PE: This song serves no purpose except to make me run faster. I have been working out a lot lately (more about that in next subject) and this song gets me going. It's vulgar and cusses a lot, but I can't help it motivates me. Don't judge me.

...Diet...
As of September 1, I officially started dieting. I had joined the gym in August and was going pretty regularly, but as I had not changed my diet, I wasn't losing any weight. So, like I said, now I'm doing both: diet and exercise. In fact, the whole family is (well, not really Mallory, but she's not home enough for it to matter). We're doing a cross between the Special K diet and counting calories/fat. I've been replacing at least one meal with cereal (my personal choice is multi-grain cheerios) and putting everything I eat into my calorie counter on my phone. I stay below 20g of fat and 1200 calories. I've also been working out every.single.day. I may miss one day a week, but only one. I go for at least 30 minutes a day and most days I do cardio for more than 45 minutes. I should be seeing results, right? Yeah, not so much so far. Since September 1, I've lost 2.8 lbs. I haven't yet weighed for this week so I'm hoping I'll have all-of-the-sudden dropped 5 lbs. Oh well, I'm going to keep it up because I really would like to be 30 lbs down by Amanda's wedding (December 11, 2010). The Maid of Honor should not resemble a bovine. Wish me luck and think positive thoughts for me!

...Television Season...
I love tv shows like a fat kid loves cake. Like Robert loves cake, even. I have about 15 shows that I watch on the regular. I know, right. Crazy. But I just can't help it. Aaaaand, guess what? It's about time for all my shows to start their new seasons! I am beyond thrilled! Next week will begin almost all of them. A few I'm SUPER excited for are: Glee, Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice, and Bones. So.so.so.excited.

Well, I guess that's all for now. Until I have more news, that's all you get.

Saturday, September 11, 2010

15 Albums

Obviously, music is my thing, people.
I talk about it incessantly, I'm constantly singing, and I post lyrics as my thoughts to everything.

So...when I saw this subject, of course I had to complete it.

Basically, without thinking about it too much, write down 15 albums that will stay with you for the rest of your life. Include a brief description of what each means to you.

Here we go...

1) One of the first albums I remember ever LOVING was Aerosmith's Big Ones. I'm sure it was originally my mother's and I just happened to steal it to listen to in my brand new cd player in my car I got for my 16th birthday. Every single time I hear these songs, I sing along. I just can't help it.


2) But, the first album I ever got was for my 10th birthday... N'Sync. Ahhh, God bless those pretty boys. I danced and sang and loved every minute of their dirty lyrics that I didn't quite understand.


3)Hanson. C'mon. We all loved MmmmBop and we all had a favorite brother. Mine was Zac...I loved his long hair and his rhythms.


4) This one is a bit more recent. The first time I ever watched this movie, I knew I loved the music, but I didn't fully grasp the context of the story. I knew it was about AIDS and homosexuals, but I didn't "get" how important the message was. Years later, I re-watched it and of course, fell in love. This album will forever be in my heart and exhibit my outlook on life and love. RENT.


5) Also, a bit more recent: Idina Menzel. You all know how I feel about her and her music. I am in awe of her talent and down-to-earth-ness. This album's lyrics have touched me in a way that almost no other cd has. And the fact that she wrote them makes me feel even closer to her. Love, love, love "I Stand" by Idina Menzel.


6) This one I came across long after the band had broken up. "Stand Still, Look Pretty" by The Wreckers is a  new-age country album with striking melodies and heart-wrenching lyrics. I have several favorites and I will always love every single song.


7) Journey. C'mon. Who doesn't love Journey? And this was another one that was my mother's and ended up in my new cd player. No matter how old I get, I will adore this greatest hits cd.


8)The first cd that I ever bought with my own money: Autobiography by Ashlee Simpson. Say what you will, but I loved this cd. I was in my "punk" stage and devoured her raspy voice. Still listen to it all the time, so don't judge me.


9)You shut your mouth. I'm a 90's kid, what can I say?


10) One of the first really "hard rock" bands I got into, thanks to my mother, was Seether. I have loved them ever since.


11) Evanescence. I know they're melodramatic, but I can't help but love Amy Lee's voice. She could sing the ABC's and I'd be in love. This was one of the first albums that I had completely memorized within days.


12) Again with the showtunes, again with the Idina. But, I know for a fact that this book and play have touched me. The lyrics and story will stay with me for the rest of my life. Love, love, love WICKED.


13) Imogen Heap "Speak for Yourself". Aaaahh. The first "indie/alternative" singer I ever truly loved. This is the music that broadened my horizons. This is the album that started my love affair with this type of music. I will always treasure this album and the girl who introduced me--Sarah Mooney.


14) Theory of a Deadman, my favorite band. Chelsea introduced them to me and at first, I thought they were like any other rock band. Once I really started listening, of course I fell in love with their lyrics and with Tyler Connelly (the lead singer)'s voice.


15) Sara Bareilles. How is that every song she writes feels like it's out of my diary (or blog)? No matter who you are, you can appreciate "Gravity".





Ok, that's what I came up with quickly. I'm sure I'll think of SOOOO many more later, but for now.. that's what I got. And of course 15 couldn't encompass all of my musical tastes and loves, but I think this shows quite the variety of my spectrum of musical delights.

Tell me what you think about my selections and of course, do your own!

Friday, September 10, 2010

Rachel

The two other readers who AREN'T Rachel... this one is for you! :)

Rachel's having a giveaway over at her blog: http://racheldillard.blogspot.com/2010/09/its-time-for-giveaway.html

Go enter it to win a super cute sign! I'm really hoping I can get one with my creedo (and tattoo) "Laugh, Love, Live Free, and Sing" or a Wicked: The Musical inspired one! :)


P.S. I've got some big news...Hopefully I'll have enough details to share soon!

Wednesday, September 08, 2010

:)

Once again, here I am stealing posts from Rachel. Typical.



{one} what was your first pet and how did you come up with its name?
The first one I remember was a white dog with black spots. Her name was Katie. I don't remember if my parents named her that or if we got her from somebody who'd already named her.

{two} do you like your ice crushed or cubed?
Ideally, crushed.

{three} do you believe in love at first sight?
Um, no. I definitely believe in LUST at first sight. And many times lust can turn in to love. But I just don't believe that you can feel true love in an instant.

{four} do you have any nicknames?
Meg, Meggie, MegHead
My family and friends aren't very creative.

{five} what movie do you never get tired of watching?
RENT, Moulin Rouge!, Funny Girl, Enchanted, Center Stage, Underworld...The list goes on.

{six} how do you like your eggs cooked?
Scrambled. I'll eat them fried, but only if the white and yolk are completely done. Any runny-ness and I can't eat them. 

{seven} are you named after anyone in particular?
My parents just randomly picked the name "Megan". LeeAnn is from my dad, Lee, and my mom's middle name, Ann. Again, they are sooo creative.

{eight} what are three things that you would like to do that you haven’t done yet?
get married and have lots of pretty babies, travel to NYC (perhaps even live there!), see Idina Menzel on Broadway

{nine} what one thing always brightens your mood?
music, flowers, my fav tv shows, talking to an old friend.

{ten} what five things will you always find in your purse?
chapstick, gum, wallet, lots of old receipts, and my ipod